Home » More & Less Hockey » Young Guns… Guards?

Young Guns… Guards?

Number 55 in San Jose: Mike Moore

The Sharks called defenseman Mike Moore back from Worcester today.
This will be his second game with the San Jose Sharks.

Welcome back, Mooresy!

As Mr. Plank explains, this probably means Murray is still out due to the much untalked about lower body injury. Plank also says it could mean Wallin is not 100% either. Wonderful. The moment things get rolling…

Demers, I think you were just promoted to senior defenseman.

Fugazi rephrased and repeated yesterday’s typo, with intent: “Poor Vlasic. I hope he pots a foal tonight just to get off his own list.”

No pressure...

Some folks on the board call the list of “cold” players for the Sharks the “Vlasic list.”  Mean.

I’m not the only superstitious hockey fan. So I made a graphic to go with the intentional typo. I fear that this is overburdening the power of the Photoshop but it is worth a try, especially in light of this new development.

However, Vlasic does have a wonderful number that promises great things. See Flyers roster.

Speaking of young defensemen, the wires are abuzz with chatter about Flyers captain Richards’ post-post game comments re: P.K. Subban:

“He’s a guy that’s come in the League and hasn’t earned respect. It’s just frustrating to see a young guy like that come in here and so much as think that he’s better than a lot of people. You have to earn respect in this League. It takes a lot. You can’t just come in here as a rookie and play like that. It’s not the way to get respect from other players around the League.

“Hopefully someone on their team addresses it, because, uh, I’m not saying I’m going to do it but something might happen to him if he continues to be that cocky.” -Mike Richard as quoted by Puck Daddy

No crime in being chatty.

What is Richards talking about?  At first I thought this back and forth had to do with something Subban said, but Richards makes reference to the way Subban is playing.  So, again, what is he talking about?  Mr. Richards, please clarify.

Maybe if I had seen the game in HD or in any D at all I would know.  But surely there are others who did not see the game, who would like to know what the Flyers captain is talking about.

Evidently Subban does not know either, or he is playing dumb:

“I think that I’m confident, but I think that there’s a lot of players that are confident in this league,” Subban said. “I’m not the only person that’s confident when I play the game. That’s what you have to do. Maybe the fact I’m a young guy coming in, maybe people don’t take well to that…” -Subban quoted by LeBrun for ESPN

Confident?  Right, I’m sure Richards takes issue with Subban’s confidence.  Because he is always harping about players being confident.

It makes no sense to me.  Richards does not strike me as particularly petty.  I imagine he was not in a good mood after last night’s game.  But to take issue with someone’s confidence just makes no sense.  So I am pretty sure that isn’t what Richards meant.

Now this I would take issue with. So why didn't anyone knock him on his fanny? Isn't that how hockey players handle such things?

In an online chat with Tim Panaccio, someone asked about Richards’ comment and he responded: “I think Lavy made it clear the Flyers were just as guilty in the chippy dept. I think Richards is sending a message for the next game.” (chat) I hope Subban privately understands the message better than he seems to in public.  Would hate to see his pretty face all smashed up.

So probably Subban is playing dumb, in both senses of the phrase.  Inviting the Flyers to escalate the rough-housing is very very dumb.  I’m sure they have not forgotten how to do that, very very well.

From the same Panaccio chat:

I was fascinated as how DOWN Lavy was after losing last night when asked about the overall play in recent weeks. He wanted no part of it. He could not even think of anything really good to say. He takes every loss so seriously and that is a welcome change from the past and it is starting to sink in w/Richards and others. You don’t hear Richie say now, ‘it’s just one loss.’ (NO idea how to cite a chat )

Ack!  Get Lavy some cookies!  I love how reality tv the Flyers media coverage is.  How can anyone resist this stuff?  Sharks, take note.

Leave a Reply

