Home » More & Less Hockey » Radio Days

Radio Days

My grandfather used to listen to baseball games on the radio. I remember coming into the kitchen early in the morning, seeing him there at the table in his ranch clothes, having already been out to do the morning chores.  One hand would be wrapped around a cup of coffee,  the other hand on the table, fingers curled a little, rapping a knuckle against the table top.  He listened with his eyes fixed on a distant place reflected in the surface of the table. 

He must have been listening to games from back East, because I don’t think they played pro ball games before noon, even back then.

I can’t remember if I ever tried to talk to him while he was listening to the game.  I don’t think I did, I was a pretty smart kid.  I was also impossibly young, I doubt I had much to say.

I think I still have one of his radios.  It has dials, and a little  red plastic bar slides along a ladder of hash marks on the case front. It doesn’t have a USB port or XM capability, it doesn’t play CDs. No cassette deck, or 8 track player. It’s just a radio.

That thing saved my sanity once, while I was in self-imposed isolation, studying for a monumentally awful test. 10 days, no tv, no internet, no cell phone.  I found that old radio and may have even listened to a ball game.  In any case, it still works.

So sitting here on the couch, listening to the Adirondack Phantoms via audio webcast is just the same, except it’s not morning, I’m listening to a laptop, and it isn’t a ball game.  Also, the NHL ASG draft is on the tv screen next to the laptop and I’m typing this on my phone.

Right, I’m also following a Twitter feed.

But it still feels the same, and there’s coffee.

For the moment, the Phantoms are winning.

I feel a twinge of guilt for not listening to the Worcester Sharks, but come on, it’s Leighton.  The broadcasters are going on and on about how terrible his last game was, as if there is no other way to say he is playing well tonight.

So the least I can do is listen to the game. It’s a little like a cup of coffee with my grandfather.

6 Comments

  1. Scum says:

    Petshark,

    I hope you are feeling better today. If you have the nasty head/chest cold that has plagued so many, I’m told Mucinex with expectorant is a lifesaver.

    Your mileage may vary.

    This message will self-destruct in 5 seconds.

    • petshark says:

      Yep, feeling better, but the last 2 sentences lost me, so maybe I’m not 100% yet? This Phantoms game is brutal. 30 SOG (Leighton’s goal) by the end of the 2nd. Eeek!

  2. Scum says:

    No, you’re fine. Just some silly obscurities from me! I apologize.

    “Your mileage may vary” is just a blanket disclaimer meaning ,”Your results may vary”. Hence, you may try the Mucinex and fail to receive the same benefit as others have, so don’t blame me!

    The, “This message will self-destruct in 5 seconds” was just a humorous closing line taken from “Mission Impossible”, referring to Leighton’s “nearly impossible” job of stopping an absurd number of shots in that game.

    Glad you’re feeling better!

    • petshark says:

      Lol, yes, Mission Impossible may well be the theme of Leighton’s career. I mean he set an AHL record for the most saves in a game, and still lost.

      Then he manages to hang on, out perform anyone’s expectations, come back from multiple injuries, despite all odds and a very strange 09-10 season, only to lose again. Gads I want this guy to win something!

      • petshark says:

        Come to think of it, his team did win the EC Championship, and even losing that game in 08, IIRC, he set the record for most saves in a game. Still, both seasons ended in disappointment. So cruel.

  3. Scum says:

    Perhaps he should quit making so many saves and his team will play better in front of him.

    Yeah, I know… but Nabby would do that!

Leave a Reply

