Home » More & Less Hockey » The Fan With One Shoe

The Fan With One Shoe

Two games, four teams, March 26, 2011

The Flyers started out very aggressive against the Islanders, and I don’t mean two fights in under a minute.  I don’t know what to make of those.

They also scored three times, one from Carter, two from JVR.

They gave up one goal and ended the period a little more loose, and I don’t mean in a good way. I suppose the correct term would be a little bit sloppy.

Wait, apparently they did not play very well in the first. Lavi said they did not:

“We certainly can play better than what we did, especially in the first two periods,” he said. “But again we got a lead and battled and came out with a strong third period and a win…”-Philly Sports Daily

I will not argue with Peter Laviolette.  He’s the expert after all.

Hold on.  Flyers won 4-1, with only 22 shots on goal to the Islanders’ 37.  And JVR had a hat trick, for which many people threw hats, and one person threw one shoe.

Later in the evening, the Sharks beat the Coyotes 4-1, with 32 shots on goal to the Coyotes’ 27. Couture scored, twice, but that is hardly surprising.  He was overdue.  And Clowe got a Gordie Howe hat trick.

If I reach back into ancient history to Setoguchi’s umbrella trick, I might convince myself that these two teams are becoming one.

I am not sure if that would be good or bad.

But I’m hopelessly biased. I’m sure someone else threw the wrong thing for a hatty this season.  I’m sure there were many days when final scores were duplicated across the league, and when the sog only used three numerals.  And those same teams all got hat tricks.

I’m sure.  I just haven’t done the research.

Leave a Reply

